Monday, March 31, 2014

RainbowCon Guest Post & Giveaway: An Introvert Writer's First Con by Sara Alva

Thank you to Pants Off Reviews for hosting this Countdown to RainbowCon blog tour!

An Introvert Writer’s First Con

This past summer, when I was still in my first year of published authordom, I happened across a Facebook post advertising RainbowCon. Floating on the high of recent and upcoming book releases, I thought the con would be an amazing opportunity to meet other authors, interact with readers, and basically just absorb all I could about this new career I’d stumbled into.

Fast forward several more grounded-in-reality months and I’m still really excited for the learning opportunities, but I’ll admit some anxieties have started to creep in.

I like the anonymity of the Internet. Given the choice, I often prefer to be that hidden-from-view observer…and perhaps that is one of the reasons I write, as there too I am behind the scenes, quietly watching (and controlling, because yeah, I like to have some power) a story of unfold. Years of people-watching have probably helped me become a better writer, but they won’t be of much benefit when I’m supposed to be an actor in my own life story.

Why then did I sign up for something that sounds like a particularly tailored brand of torture for me? Well, one answer would be that I’m a spaz, and I jumped into it with a monetary commitment before thinking. But another would be that I’m aware of my social shortcomings and realize that at times I have to force myself into new situations, or else I’ll never grow. And growth is something that is very important to me, both as a person and as an author. From the career standpoint, engaging with other writers, discussing our work, meeting readers and hearing what they like and don’t like—all of it has the potential to help me develop as an author. From a personal standpoint, I’ll most likely be a happier and less stressed out individual if I can get over my fears of interacting with a room full of strangers.

That’s why I’m soldiering on. I won’t say there aren’t going to be a few more bumpy moments ahead—I did consider starting a bonfire in my backyard with my swag when I saw how large my name appeared on them (who wants my name on a bag? Ick.)—but I’m willing to push through those momentary freak-outs. Or I have to, now, because I just booked my flight last night, and I categorically refuse to waste money.

So if you happen to be attending the con and come across me, please don’t let me hide behind any potted ferns. I promise I won’t be doing any hard-sells (I’m barely comfortable self-promoting from behind the safety of a computer screen) and I’d honestly just like to learn everything I possibly can about writing in the genre…and about being an occasionally social human being.


To be entered in the giveaway, leave a comment below with email. One winner will receive an ebook copy of Silent. Winner will be selected on April 3rd.

Silent by Sara Alva

Alex’s life as a teenager in South Central LA is far from perfect, but it’s his life, and he knows how to live it. He knows what role to play and what things to keep to himself. He’s got it all under control, until one lousy pair of shoes kicks him out of his world and lands him in a foster care group home.

Surrounded by strangers and trapped in a life where he could never belong, Alex turns to the only person lower on the social ladder than he is: a “special” mute boy. In Sebastian, Alex finds a safe place to store his secrets—those that sent him to foster care, and the deeper one that sets him apart from the other teenagers he knows. But Sebastian has secrets of his own, and when tragedy rips the two boys apart, Alex will stop at nothing to find the answers—even if it means dragging them both through a past full of wounds best left buried.

It might just be worth it, for the slim chance at love.

Available From: Amazon | ARe | Barnes&Noble

About Sara:

Sara Alva is a former small-town girl currently living in big-city LA with a husband, two cats, and an avocado tree. She recently discovered—after a year in her house—that she also has a fig tree in her backyard, which might mean she needs to get out more. But sometimes the stories waiting to be told demand more attention, and when she puts fingers to keyboard, it’s usually to write about
journeys of self-discovery, heartache, personal growth, friendship and love. When she isn’t writing, she’s teaching or dancing. For more information, free short stories and news on upcoming releases, visit Sara’s website at

Connect with Sara:

Website | Facebook | Twitter

Friday, March 28, 2014

RainbowCon Guest Post & Giveaway: You Do Know They`re Not Real...Right? Right? by Elizabeth Noble

You do know they’re not real…right? Right?

Thank you so much for sharing your blog with me!

Last year I was lucky enough to attend the Dreamspinner Press Author conference and was surrounded by many other Dreamspinner Press authors. Nice folks, a little crazy but in that really sweet sort of way.

Naturally, when a bunch of writers larger than a group of one get together conversations turn to writerly things. There was all sorts of talk about balancing writing with the rest of our lives, the right plots, the wrong plots and story development.

The most in depth and by far interesting conversations revolved around our characters. We all went on and on about which of our characters were telling us their back stories, and which ones were about to find one another and how difficult it was to convince them to take their first kiss.

After I came home I began working with Anne Barwell developing our The Sleepless City series. Her book, Shades of Sepia, is the first book in the series and my upcoming release, Electric Candle is the second. It will be available April 4 from Dreamspinner Press.

My conversations with Anne, in part, revolved around what things this or that character was doing at the time.

I’ve often noticed, while engaged in conversations about our characters with readers and other authors alike, we talk about them as if they’re real. It makes me want to ask: you do know they’re not real, right?

Sometimes, I wonder.

I’m on the top of the list of offenders who treat my fictional people like they’re sitting here with me. I’ve come to realize the truth is, those people, my fictional people, do share my life day in and day out.

Sort of makes me sound crazy.

Then again, I think a prerequisite for being a writer is at least a dash of crazy.

The truth is, the reason a writer can bring characters ‘to life’ in a book is because of their relationship with those characters. Well-developed characters speak to us. They have a story to tell. There is so much more to a character than what goes into a book. I have many little details written down about each and every character that gets added in here and there as needed. Things like what they like to eat, or their favorite color.

Jonas Forge, one of the stars of Electric Candle is a sports fan. That fact is something that never came up in the book, but I do happen to know he’s a huge Cleveland Indians fan! Forge was a great character to work with, he’s got a lot of background after all, 239 year’s worth! He’s a vampire and a homicide detective. Even at his age things still surprise him. One of the biggest surprises is when love tumbles—quite literally—into his life.

Don’t tell Jonas he’s not real, it upsets him and he’s got a few more books to appear in. Nothing worse than trying to work with a difficult character.

In celebration of the upcoming Rainbow Con I’ll be giving away a signed copy of Electric Candle and I do ship world-wide. If you’re attending Rainbow Con I’ll hand deliver your book and we’ll grab a cup of something good to drink, my treat. Like Jonas Forge I’m a coffee lover. I’m looking forward to meeting everyone at Rainbow Con. (So is Forge, but don’t let him corner you, he’ll talk your ear off.)

Simply comment below to be entered into the drawing. I’ll announce the winner on March 30.

Blurb—Electric Candle

When a vampire finds his soul mate, the bond is forever. It’s love at first sight. Or is it?

Flint, Ohio Homicide Detective Jonas Forge has been a vampire for nearly two hundred years. He’s fought wars, seen life go from the simple but hard colonial days to the modern high tech world. He’s evolved with the times, adapting with each new era, blending into each new life. The one constant is his best friend and lover, Declan.

Until Forge’s soul mate tumbles, literally, into his life.

Even though they’re not fated to be together forever, Forge and Declan are perfectly happy. Despite the pheromone attracting him to his soul mate, Forge isn’t thrilled with the guy, and the feeling seems mutual. While trying to adjust to his clumsy soul mate and equally awkward feelings, Forge is on the hunt for the serial killer who’s leaving a trail of bodies, and who witnesses can’t identify. But Forge better watch out. When his work collides with his love life, things really heat up.


No one was there, yet Forge couldn’t shake the feeling he wasn’t alone. He wandered down the beach a few yards. Water splashing against the shore and spraying up made him go closer for a better look. The lake’s edge here wasn’t gently sloping sand but a sharp lip of concrete. Hunkering on the ledge, Forge leaned over for a look.

The wall ran a good half mile in either direction. He could see large spots that were darker than the surrounding area. Forge had read about the secret rooms constructed all along Lake Erie during Prohibition. Illegal booze and guns were stashed in them. One could only access the rooms by going under water. At high tide, many of the outer parts of the rooms were completely submerged. He’d never been in one.

More than likely he’d have to get wet to justify the expense of divers. Forge was still contemplated getting a dive team in when he heard shouting.

“Stop. Wait!”

The voice sounded familiar, but Forge couldn’t place it. That always made him nuts. Turning, he looked up at the top of the stairs. Then he squinted and shook his head. Who belonged to the voice made him stare in a type of horrified wonder, like one looked at a train wreck.

The fact his cock picked then to persistently remind him of its presence and give a few twitches and throbs didn’t help.

It was a man, though the horror Forge was feeling might have been less if it’d been a woman. He wore what appeared to be homemade steampunk goggles with dark lenses, a long sleeved black shirt, and black jeans.

“Sweet mother of God, is that a cape?” Forge muttered and took a few steps forward. “No, stop, don’t—”

It was too late. The oddly dressed man began to run down the steps—the slippery, wet steps, waving his arms. He’d gone about three steps when his feet slid out from under him and his rear hit the stone stairs. The man yelped, and Forge’s cock gave another twitch. He had the fleeting thought of how disturbing on several levels that was.

“What the hell?” Forge ran to the bottom of the stairs.

Bouncing head over heels down the steps, the guy finally flopped to one side and rolled the remainder of the way down, finishing his descent with a hearty splash in the chilly lake water.

Floundering and shouting, the man slapped the lake’s surface, went under, bobbed up, and spit water out of his mouth, and garbled, “Can’t… swim.”

Throwing his arms wide, Forge grumbled, “It’s not as if vampires drown.”

The guy went under, the water churned, but he didn’t come to the surface. Jerking his jacket off and dropping it to the ground, Forge made sure his phone was with the garment.

“This has got to be a joke. A really bad joke.” Forge ran to the edge and dove in. The only thing that prevented him from ejaculating the second his fingers touched the man was the cold water. He shuddered when he pulled the guy against his chest and wrapped one arm around him, using the other to help propel them to the surface.

When he got to the concrete edge, he hefted the guy over and onto the ground. Forge hoisted himself out of the water and hit the guy, who looked to be in his twenties, between the shoulder blades to expel lake water.

A shiver and spark of electricity ran from Forge’s palm and coursed down his spine to settle in his groin.

This couldn’t be his soul mate. Yet even as he finished that thought, he knew, and there was no denying what his body was telling him. The fool dressed as some superhero wannabe in a really bad outfit was Jonas Forge’s mate for eternity.

Forge wondered if other vampires would penalize him for killing his soul mate.

Pre-Order Link for Electric Candle

Author Bio:
Elizabeth Noble began telling stories before she actually knew how to write, and her family was very happy when she learned to put words on a page. Those words turned into fan fiction that turned into a genuine love of M/M romance fiction. Her favorite books to write (and read) include all things sci-fi, futuristic, and supernatural as well as a good mystery.

Elizabeth has three grown children and is now happily owned by an adorable mixed breed canine princess named Rosie, and two cats, Murphy and Yeti. She lives in her native northeast Ohio, the perfect place for gardening, winter and summer sports (go Tribe!) and using her trusty telescope. When she's not writing she's working as a veterinary nurse, so don't be surprised to see her men with a pet or three who are a very big part of their lives.

Google+ pages:
The Sleepless City Facebook page:

Wednesday, March 26, 2014

Guest Post: Benjamin Pepperwhistle: Directors's Cut by Cornelia Grey

Hello, everyone, and thank you so much for having me here today to chat about my latest release!

Benjamin Pepperwhistle and the Fantabulous Circus of Wonders was originally released as a short story, part of Storm Moon Press’ Weight of a Gun II anthology. There was a word count limit, of course, and I had to struggle to fit all I wanted to say about the characters within that length – ahem, I might have even gone slightly over the limit, in fact!

It’s always a good challenge to have to carefully prune every superfluous word and every paragraph of waffling, making sure every word counts. It’s one of the reasons why I’m so fond of writing short stories, and why I’m looking forward to trying to write for younger readers as well: there’s no room for waffling about. In a shorter format, every meandering description, every useless digression from the core of the story, becomes much more evident than what it would be in a novel. That’s why I’ve always felt that writing short stories is a task that requires a lot of fine tuning and chisel work – I like to think of it as something similar to the pruning of a bonsai, where great care is needed to obtain a miniature version with all the characteristics of something bigger.

However, in this case, I felt that I was leaving out more than extraneous padding. Benjamin and Cole were not quite finished telling their story, and I couldn’t help but feel that cramming it in a short story word count meant I had lost something interesting.

So when the time came to release the story as a stand-alone, it was a great opportunity to fix that!

Benjamin Pepperwhistle – Director’s Cut features over 7500 words of new material, and has evolved from a short story into a novella. It’s the first time I had the chance to go back to a story after over a year to add more to it, and I was a little concerned – what if I could no longer slip in the characters’ heads? What if I had forgotten about them? What if they no longer wanted to tell me about what was still missing from their story?

But it must have really been the case that I had skipped over something that really needed to be said, because I was pleasantly surprised at how smoothly the words came out, naturally flowing to fill a gap in the story I couldn’t even see. The scorching tension that I’d felt so many months before between Benjamin and Cole was still there, sizzling and exciting, still ready to be explored and unleashed through the medium that binds them in this story, that brings them together – the gun.

I had the chance to explore a whole new side of Benjamin, and a secret side that Cole had yet to reveal, too; I got to see a brand new dynamic play out that caught me and fascinated as if I had just penned the entire thing. It was like getting back to a torrid affair I thought had ended forever long ago, and finding it just as smoking hot as I had left it!

I hope you will all enjoy this new peek into Benjamin and Cole’s relationship as much as I have :)!

Benjamin Pepperwhistle and the Fantabulous Circus of Wonders 

Now Available for $2.99 at Storm Moon Press
Benjamin Pepperwhistle has one overriding desire: to handle the glorious machinery that is a gun. So when he decides to run away to join the circus, it's only natural that he should seek out the legendary pistoleer, Cole Beauchamp, and beg to be his assistant. Life in the circus has definite ups and downs, but as Benjamin settles in to his role, he finds that some perks are even better than he'd anticipated.

Monday, March 24, 2014

Excerpt: Fractured by Mickie B. Ashling


Lance felt like he was walking on the infamous cloud 9—the one that always showed up whenever he was infatuated. Trying to deny his feelings any longer was pointless. The moment Ro took his shoes off and then asked about recycling, his approval rating climbed up several notches. It didn’t hurt that the object of his affection looked like a younger version of Latino actor Esai Morales, who played Lt. Tony Rodriguez on NYPD Blue, one of Lance’s favorite shows.

Roque had lighter eyes, though, and looked more European than Aztec. He was positive there was Spanish nobility coursing through Ro’s lithe but muscular frame. Despite his humble background, Ro carried himself with quiet dignity, another immensely appealing trait. Lance was a sucker for confident men, especially if he could get them to exchange some of that power willingly. The vision of Roque kneeling at his feet, hands bound behind his back and a cock ring encircling what Lance could only imagine was a perfectly proportioned penis, made him groan in frustration. He could feel his own organ straining against his jeans, and he gave in to the moment, powering up his laptop. He jerked off to the image of a spanking scene, superimposing Ro’s face on the submissive he’d been virtually dating over the last few months.

Self-service wasn’t nearly as satisfying, but it took the edge off, and he could think rationally once it was out of the way. He glanced at his watch and saw that it was only eight o’clock in the evening. His favorite shrink would still be awake in New York City if he called right now. Giving in to impulse, he tapped in his number, which was stored in Favorites. Peter answered on the third ring.

“What’s going on?” Peter asked, concern oozing through the connection.

“Not much,” Lance replied.

“FaceTime,” Peter ordered. “I do better when I can see you lying.”

“Shut up,” Lance said, laughing at his doctor’s insight. Nonetheless, he did as ordered and activated the iPhone feature. “Is that better?”

Peter harrumphed. “You must be in lust again.”

“Jesus, am I that obvious?”

“You’ve got that dumb grin on your face. Who is it this time?”

“Let’s just say I’m interested in someone. Nothing’s happened yet.”

“Then why are you calling?”

“Because I can.”

“I suppose you should get your money’s worth since I’m still on retainer.”

“Okay, enough with the jokes,” Lance said. “I’m attracted to one of my patients and scared to move forward.”

“What are you afraid of?”

“Moral ethics aside?”


“I’m afraid of fucking this up.”

“Is he in active treatment?”

“The initial surgery is completed, but I’ll be doing sporadic checks until I can place his implants.”

“But in essence he’s done for now.”


“Problem solved.”

“What if I scare him off with all my other stuff?”

“Lance, try and be rational. Your last breakup was two years ago, and it just wasn’t a good fit. That doesn’t mean you’re incapable of finding the right match. What does this guy do?”

Lance didn’t respond, prompting Peter to ask. “Did you hear my question?”

“He’s a landscaper,” Lance replied in a soft voice.

“Here we go again,” Peter grumbled. “Let me guess. He’s a dark-skinned brunet with a heavy accent, and thinking of him groveling at your feet and begging for release makes you hard.”

“Fuck you.”

“Am I wrong?”


“Is he also illiterate like Manny?”

“As a matter of fact, he’s not,” Lance countered hotly. “He’s articulate and driven from what I’ve learned so far, and Manny wasn’t illiterate, you dumb ass! He didn’t speak English, that’s all.”

“Lance, you continue to act like a moron despite your IQ. Falling for guys who provide little or no mental stimulation will always result in failure. It doesn’t matter if the body chemistry is right. May I remind you that good looks are temporary but dumb is forever?”

“He’s not dumb!”

“So you’ve said.”

“Then why are you on my case?”

“You wouldn’t be calling if you were confident.”

“I wanted to give you an update, but you’d rather badger me into admitting I’m doing the wrong thing. Peter, I’m not leaping before looking this time. We’re taking baby steps. Hell, I don’t even know if this guy is into BDSM. This may be a moot point, and it’ll fizzle out after the first orgasm.”

“You mean that hasn’t happened yet?”

“I told you I’m taking it very slow.”

“That’s reassuring.”

“Thank you,” Lance said begrudgingly. “Perhaps I’m not as moronic as you seem to think.”

Roque “Ro” Celdran dreams of a better life, far away from the hand-to-mouth existence of his migrant worker family. He moves to San Francisco to study Landscape Design but finds himself short of cash. Tony, Ro’s identical twin, comes up with a plan to help Ro make ends meet. The BDSM club Tony frequents is looking for gay men to act as submissives to the Dommes-in-training. Ro reluctantly takes the job and falls headfirst into a world he neither understands nor desires. 

Lance Roberts is the new doctor at the dental practice started by Scott Gregory and Robin Kennedy. On the surface, he seems to have it all: the Mensa IQ, blond and blue-eyed good looks, and the determination to make it in his competitive field. Underneath lies a frustrated Dom in search of the perfect sub who can handle his obsessive behavior and debilitating need for control. 

When Ro ends up in Lance’s dental chair, the last thing either one expects is a physical and mental connection. Ro’s attraction to “White Bread” never pans out, and Lance’s weakness for Latinos always leads to a dead end. Could this time be different? What happens between the two alphas leads to a lot of soul-searching and some surprising conclusions.

Wednesday, March 19, 2014

Review: Shiny by Amy Lane

Reviewed by Whuppsy
Shiny by Amy Lane
Dreamspinner Press
Novel: 200pgs
5 Pants Off 

Will Lafferty and Kenny Scalia are both having sort of a day. Will gets fired for letting fifth graders read Harry Potter, and Kenny finds his boyfriend and his sex toys in bed with a complete stranger. When Will knocks over Kenny's trash can—and strews Kenny's personal business all over the street—it feels like the perfect craptastic climax to the sewage of suckage that has rained down on them both.

But ever-friendly, ever-kind Will asks snarky Kenny out for a beer—God knows they both need one—and two amazing things occur: Kenny discovers talking to Will might be the best form of intercourse ever, and Will discovers he's gay.

Their unlikely friendship seems like the perfect platonic match until Will reveals how very much more he’s been feeling for Kenny almost since the beginning. But Kenny’s worried. Will’s new-found sexuality is bright and glittery and shiny, but what happens when that wears off? Is Will's infatuation with Kenny strong enough to stay real?

Amy Lane is ALWAYS A MUST BUY for me. Her books have always dragged me over coals. I read on of her books and know that I need a bubble bath and a big ol’ glass of wine to just relax and be. So, when I had the chance to review her newest book, Shiny!, I totally jumped at the chance.

Shiny! Is about Will Lafferty and Kenny Scalia these two guys were just so sweet and wonderful together. I can’t imagine ANYONE else for them. They just fit together like nothing I’ve seen in awhile.

Will is a grade school teacher and he also does web design work. He’s this sweet, kind, loving, self -proclaimed Mommy’s boy. He’s got the kindest heart and sweetest disposition that I’ve ever read about. He’s just amazing. He’s kinds seeing this woman, but as he states repeatedly in the story, he’s just not really into her. Hell, he’s not been into any woman that he’s met or slept with. He also wants to write a comic book, but he’s not that great of an illustrator.

Kenny Scalia is this amazing guy who is so colorful and wonderful. He’s this sweet guy who just wants to have the love and partner and family that he’s always dreamed of. He is so just freaking cute, I don’t even have the words to describe how much I really liked Kenny. He is a bit insecure when it comes to his worth as he’s had guys he’s dated in the past leave him for something, shiny.

I love the story moves from present day to the past. I loved seeing that they were together and yet, how it all began. It was like reading an epilogue only it was part of the story. We got to see how they ended up and how they began in one swoop.

I loved how the story just flowed along the pages. There was nothing jarring to pull me from what I was reading. I got to enjoy reading about how these two men fell in love. How sweet and lighthearted it was. Now, Amy is KNOWN for ripping you to shreds and this story didn’t have that. It had just a sweet touch of angst, but nothing too heart-wrenching. It was just an enjoyable read.

The secondary characters gave just enough to let you know that they loved and appreciated and really liked our characters. They allowed our characters to just be and also to have some really amazing sounding boards. They added just enough to the story without overwhelming it. I really loved Will’s Mommy!! She had just the absolute love for her son and when he announced that he was gay, took it in stride. Like it wasn’t anything big enough to make her stop loving her son.

I will say that the humor in the story was just amazing. I loved that this story made me laugh and feel really good. I always love a story that makes me feel good and this one really did. The way that Will and Kenny bantered and flirted with each other was so freaking precious. I loved that the way that they met was so funny and yet the beginning of the very best thing that ever happened to them.

I love that their relationship grew over time. That it wasn’t insta-love that they became friends before becoming lovers. That made their relationship all the more special. I loved that they supported and cheered the other on when good things happened. I love that no matter what was going on, they had each other to lean on.

I will say that this is just the kind of story you can read when you want a sweet, tender romance. When you’ve had a bad day, reading this will definitely put you in a better mood. Amy has really pulled out an amazing story and just let you have a ball going along for the ride.

Read. This. Book. You will not be disappointed.

5 Pants Off

Review: No Such Thing by AM Arthur

No Such Thing by A.M Arthur
Carina Press
Novel: 221pgs
4 Pants Off

Twenty-two-year-old Alessandro Silva knows that returning to tiny Perch Creek to help his foster mother was the right thing to do. With no degree and a delinquent's reputation, he's lucky to have landed a job waiting tables. But not everyone is happy he's back, and the only thing keeping his move home from being a total bust is his boss's hot brother.

Jaime Winters spent most of his life watching the world go by, first from a series of hospitals and then from behind big stacks of textbooks. Studying is easier than facing the fact that years of heart failure means he's still a virgin at twenty-three. Until the new waiter in his sister's diner awakens desires he'd long ago given up on.

The last thing Alessandro wants is to fall for someone as fragile as Jaime. And Jaime may have a new heart, but he's scared of what giving it to another person would mean. Their no-strings-attached, instructional approach to sex keeps emotion safely at bay, until a secret from Alessandro's past forces them to confront their feelings in the present...

Alessandro Silva is moving back to the small town where he grew up with his foster parents. With the death of his foster dad, he decides to move back home to help out his mom and foster siblings. He doesn't look forward to moving back but he's grateful for what his parents did for him and he wants to give back. The downside will be to find a job when he's got a record, and what it means to be gay in a small town that remembers how much of a little shit he was when he was younger. Finding a job proves to be easy and that’s one problem crossed off the list, but his new job comes with the boss's brother and Jaime is just too sweet to resist. Ale doesn't do love but he sure would like to do Jaime, no strings attached of course.

Jaime is finally in great health after spending most of his life in a hospital. With a new heart he can start living and maybe find a boyfriend. When he see's Ale for the first time, he's exactly what he wants but Jaime fears that his inexperience might be somewhat of turnoff for the worldly looking Ale and Jaime prefers not to find out. Yet, the attraction between them cannot be denied and Ale teaches Jaime a few things and captures his heart in the process.

Alright, of course this book has to have the small-town assholes and something shifty from Ale's past and that’s what I could have done without. I just can't get on board with a villain that’s barely out of diapers. I was literally waiting for Ale to wait for his ass in a dark corner because just all the nopes. The book was so enjoyable without all that bully rich boy runs town thing (been there and read that).

What I liked most was the progression of Ale and Jaime's relationship. They were so super sweet and really touched me in the feels. Another plus is the positive portrayal of a foster home. I can't tell you how many times I've read the downers like it’s always a bad thing to be a foster which in all reality is plausible. So it was great to read about this great guy who was taken in by great parents and he's just trying to pass on that love that he learnt from a foster home (sea breeze refreshing). Also, the four way was made in hot heaven and my pants are gone. It was just incredibly sexy.

And lastly, the epic downer for me. Ale is Brazilian but I'm positive that’s two white dudes on the cover, and while some Brazilians do look white coming from Ale's description he was a brown guy, tan guy, wateva his complexion was darker than Jaime's. So all the nopes for that cover, really didn't do a good job of representing both characters.

Overall, really liked the story and I will most definitely read more from AM Arthur. No Such Thing was really enjoyable and Jaime and Ale were just so super cute.

4 Pants Off

Guest Post & Giveaway: Curiosity Killed Shaney by JC Wallace

Hi, everyone! I want to thank Pants off Review for inviting me to the blog. Curiosity Killed Shaney is my first published novel and I am thrilled to share this story with all of you.

This blog tour got huge fast! There are awesome prizes to that will be given away at the end of the tour. At the end of this post, you will find a link to enter! Check in at for links to all of the blogs in the tour and you can enter as much as you like!

Today I am interviewing Hudson from Curiosity Killed Shaney.

JC: Hey, Hudson. Thanks for taking the time to talk to me.

Hudson: No, problem, JC. Shaney is around here somewhere, so I hope we can get through this without incidence.

JC: Okay, well, let’s get started. Tell us a bit about yourself.

Hudson: Well, I’m Hudson Turner from Curiosity Killed Shaney. I’m 26 year old and I’m a carpenter. I live in Tupper Lake, NY. Shaney is my boyfriend. I think that’s about it.

JC: You run your own carpentry business. How did that get started?

Hudson: I went to college because my parents expected it and they're high achievers. My dad is in business so I went for that because I didn’t know what to go for and it made him happy. He wanted me work with him but when I got out of college I came back to Tupper Lake. I have always loved working with wood. When I was a teenager, I liked to build things with my grandfather so I set up my own business as a carpenter and I’m happy with it.

JC: How did you get involved in charity?

Hudson: Oh, you mean doing work for people who can’t afford to pay. Well, my grandfather was a very altruistic and believed in giving. He was a research scientist he didn’t want to make money off his work and always told me that people are important than money. So, when my business got going really good, I would do work for those I knew couldn’t afford it just as my grandfather taught me.

JC: That’s really nice of hear. Let’s talk about you and Shaney. You’re really different from one another. He’s free-spirited, curious, easy going. You’ve described yourself as reserved, quiet and solitary. How does it work with your differences?

Hudson: Shaney is over the top some of the times (laughs) but I think our differences complement each other. I think I help ground him and keep him from going too far over the top. He can get pretty outrageous in what he wants to do or find out about. For me, he has really shown me how to live life, not be so closed off and to laugh more. I’ve never laughed so hard with Shaney around.

Shaney: (yells from the other room) That’s right big guy!
Hudson: (shakes his head and yells back) Go find something to do, baby. I’ll be done soon.

Shaney: Okay.

JC: I think he’s gone, so I can ask the next question. What was your worst first date ever?

Hudson: When I was sixteen and a bunch of us went down to the lake to hang out. Soon people paired off .and me and this girl were left sitting there. I knew at the time I was gay but in Tupper Lake, back then, it just wasn’t accepted. The girl got a little handsy and kissed me and I did kiss her back but I thinking about a guy in my gym class. Before I knew it, she’d grabbed my hand and put it on I kind of freaked out and literally ran away. She told the entire school. It was pretty crappy.

Shaney: (yells) Ewww, on her boob?!

Hudson: Shaney, I thought you were going to find something to do.

Shaney: (yells) Yes sir, boss!

JC: (chuckles) Okay. Next question. You’ve been called by some The Perfect Guy and Mr. Tall, Dark, and Hunky. What are your thoughts on that?

Hudson: Sounds like something Shaney would say. Not sure how true that those are.

Shaney: (yells)You’re definitely all of those Mr. Hottie!

Hudson: Shaney!

Shaney: Going!

JC: Shaney? (no answer). Okay, now that he’s gone, I PROMISE I won't tell dish! What did you first think when you met him?

Hudson: Yeah, I don't need his head any bigger than it is. When I first saw him, I thought that I really wanted to just talk to him. I'm not so good at that stuff and if you read the story, you’ll see how well our first meeting worked out. Damn, that boy can get himself hurt the closet. Best thing I ever did was talking to him.

JC: Very sweet (yes, he’s blushing). I've heard you call your truck your baby. What's the story with this vehicle?

Hudson: It’s a 2012 Ford F250. It's a truck. I'm a guy. Enough said.

JC: Got it. So, are you more of a dog person or more of a cat person?

Hudson: Snort, definitely a cat person if you get my meaning.

JC: Oh, the killed by curiosity thing. Got it (laughs). Any more adventures on the horizon for you, Mr. Hudson?

Hudson: With Shaney, when isn't there an adventure. Getting up in the morning is an—
(A loud crash shakes the house.)

Hudson: What the fu—

Shaney: Hey, Huds, you know that shelf in the hall closet you told me not to touch? Well, it fell on my hand.

Hudson: (rubs at the bridge of his nose) See? Can get hurt in a closet. See ya, JC.

JC: If I ever get through an interview with these two, it will be a miracle.

Tomorrow, I will be visiting the blog of Rob Colton and blogging about fan art gone wrong. Hope to see you all there!

Available at 

R&P Publishing  Barnes and Noble

Blurb: Shaney's curiosity is always getting him into trouble, including stumbling into a ritualistic circle and being imbued with an energy that will eventually tear him apart. He soon finds out that Hudson, a man he cares for deeply, might be responsible for his misfortune. Add in the betrayal by his best friend Todd and the desire of a demented occultist named Silas to
control the energy inside of him and there seems to be no way out. Can Shaney find a way to rid his body of the nefarious energy before he dies a horrible death?


Shaney peered cautiously around the aisle of junk peddled on late night television as items that that no one could live without. Yeah, right, Shaney snorted to himself. With anything but suave subtlety, he looked for his target through the open racks of clothes and tall shelves filled with shoes. Well, tall for him. Yes, he was short for a man. Hell, he was short for a pre-pubescent teenager. And in one of the cruelest twists of fate, at five feet six inches, Shaney was the shortest of his three siblings—three sisters, actually. Oh, yeah, as if that hadn’t been a wonderful childhood.

He sighed, reminding himself that he’d long ago come to terms with his lack of verticality—sort of. Silently, he slipped around the end of the shelf, moving slow and smooth, like the aforementioned cat. He worked his way toward the first rack of haphazardly piled shoes. Of course, he should straighten those up later. He stopped about ten feet from the rack, not daring to get any closer. As he peered through one of the shelves, he caught just a glimpse of his target’s red shirt. The man was rifling through the rack of sweatshirts.

If he could just get a bit closer, get a better look…

Shaney froze as the man—and, oh, what a man he was—walked out from behind that rack of shoes, a black sweatshirt in hand. Maybe if Shaney remained still, he wouldn’t be spotted out there in the open, drooling, because that was what he did when faced with the most gorgeous specimen of man known to humankind. The hunky man’s spiky black hair was longer on top and shorter on the sides. He had a five o’clock shadow at ten a.m. covering a strong jaw with—oh, hell—a dimpled chin and intense crystal blue eyes centered by the straightest, most slender nose ending over mouth-watering lips that were just waiting to be sucked and nibbled. That red T-shirt covered wide shoulders and biceps. Black jeans hugged a slim waist and caressed every single muscle with each confident, I-own-the-world step he took in black work boots. And talk about tall!

Shaney stopped breathing as Mr. Tall, Dark, and Hunky came down his aisle. The man’s blue eyes scanned the store looking from something or…someone?


Time ceased and the world narrowed as those eyes penetrated straight into Shaney’s soul, connected with his very essence, and awakened Shaney’s cock within his pressed chinos. Those forceful eyes were staring and, wait...frowning, as the man came straight at him! Panic seized Shaney’s body. Oh, fuck! He saw me staring and now he’s going to kill the cat! Damn, Todd for being right! Unable to break from the intensity of that unyielding gaze, Shaney started to scramble backwards with no regard for direction—just away from Mr. Tall, Dark, and Angry. Shaney sprinted in reverse as the man raised his hand and pointed a finger.

“Hey. You.”

Even faced with imminent death, the man’s voice vibrated through every nerve in Shaney’s small frame. If he had to die, let his death be at the hands of this god.


Every cell in Shaney’s body followed the forceful order, but not before Shaney slammed into the shelf behind him. He gasped, the breath knocked from his lungs. He grasped for anything solid to hold onto as the useless treads of his sneakers slid on the waxed floor. Items rocked on the shelf, some toppling, others just threatening.

This is gonna hurt, Shaney thought and cringed until his hand finally grasped a shelf, and his other hand found purchase as well.

The enormous display shelf settled as Shaney struggled to steady his feet. He closed his eyes, sucking in large quantities of air. His hands vibrated against the steel of the shelf, unyielding in their death grip. The whoosh of blood in his ears cocooned him in silence and he almost forgot about…Shaney’s eyes popped open, and he jumped back in surprise to see Mr. Tall, Dark, and Angry right in his face. And next, as is standard humor in classic Saturday morning cartoons, something heavy fell out of the sky, landed on Shaney’s head, brought him to
his knees, then flat on his face. The only thing missing were those annoying little chirpy bluebirds circling his head. He’d have to settle for stars.

Curiosity Killed Shaney Blog Tour Giveaway!!

Shaney is so excited about his story being told that he is giving away some great prizes!
P.S. He’s really excited to give them away!
1- $25 Amazon Gift Card
2 Curiosity Killed Shaney Ebooks
2 of Maximus’ “Duct Tape” T-shirts
3 “Freeze Warlock” Coffee Mugs
2 $5 Amazon Gift Cards

You can enter daily along the blog tour, as often as you like!

About JC Wallace

I have been writing all of my life, however it was just this year that I ventured out to be published. In my day job, I am a behavior analyst. At night and on the weekends, I write about all things men. I believe there is nothing hotter than two men finding and loving one another, whether for a night or forever. An avid reader of M/M romance, I love a good twist of a plot, HEA, HFN, or tragic ending.

I am owned by three kids, one grandchild and one on the way, two dogs and one cat. I live in the beautiful Adirondack Mountains in Northern NY


Friday, March 14, 2014

RainbowCon Guest Post: Putting the FUN in the Dysfunctional by Shae Connor

Putting the FUN in Dysfunctional
By Shae Connor

When I first got started in this whole professional writing thing four years ago, I had a bad case of nerves about it. What if no one liked my stories? Worse, what if no one liked me? I can get over a book being rejected, but would I be the wallflower in the corner, making the “forever alone” face?

Ha. As if this crowd would let that happen.

The romance genre in general, and the gay romance community specifically, opens its arms to everyone. Sure, there are squabbles and kerfuffles, and the occasional flounce, but most people are warm, smart, and funny. And most of us know how to enjoy ourselves.

Y’know, writers are kind of weird. We have imaginary people talking to us from inside our heads, but instead of sending us off to a psych ward, people pay us to let them talk. We gripe about our characters taking over, but we’ll happily follow them wherever they go. And we spend the bulk of our time alone, hunched over a keyboard, but get us all in one place, and we can’t stop talking.

Conventions like RainbowCon are great on multiple levels, but for authors, it’s really our time to shine. We extract ourselves from our hidey holes, get gussied up, put on our Professional Writer hats and our dancing shoes, and wallow in what makes being a writer awesome: readings, signings, panel discussions, workshops, and, of course, parties. (Never forget the parties.) We stay up late talking about our favorite stories—ours and others’—and we drink too much alcohol and coffee. (Is there any such thing?) We meet readers and bloggers and other authors, and we share everything that makes our genre great.

And sometimes, we come away with ideas for new stories. Or, say, an anthology.

(Nice segue, eh?)

A couple of years ago, a group of authors on a panel at a convention put together an idea for an anthology. About pirates. Butt pirates, to be exact. And they had to be in space. Of course. And thus was born Butt Pirates In Space! The ink was hardly dry on the shiny new book before we were planning for the follow-up, and next month, you’ll all have the chance to experience the glory that is Butt Ninjas from Hell!

Featuring eight stories from eight authors, Butt Ninjas from Hell will be out in ebook on April 16 from Wilde City Press. (Print will follow soon after, for those who prefer the hard copies.) Naturally, that timing means I’ll be pimping the hell out of it at RainbowCon, so if you’ll be there, look me up. I might even have a little goodie to give you.

And even if you’re not interested in a little butt ninja action, look me up anyway. Introduce yourself. Come to a panel and ask me a question. Tell me about your favorite authors and stories, and I’ll tell you about mine. Who knows? Maybe they’ll match up, and we’ll be instant besties!

Or if nothing else, maybe we’ll come away with another story recommendation or idea, or three, and head back to our computers re-inspired and re-invigorated for another year of writing and reading. And really, isn’t that what it’s all about?

Author Bio

Shae Connor lives in Atlanta, where she’s a lackadaisical government worker for a living and writes sweet-hot romance under the cover of night. She’s been making things up for as long as she can remember, but it took her a long time to figure out that maybe she should try writing them down. She’s conned several companies into publishing her work and adds a new notch on her bedpost each time another story is unleashed onto an unsuspecting universe.

Shae is part Jersey, part Irish, and all Southern, which explains why she never shuts up. You can find her hanging out on Twitter most any time @shaeconnor, but for the more direct route, you can email her at or visit her website at

Butt Ninjas from Hell

They move like shadows through the night… when they aren't tripping over the furniture. Prepare your loins for the unsheathing of fleshy swords, the plunging of steely blades, and the unmasking of your deepest, hottest desires as Kage Alan, JP Barnaby, Ally Blue, TC Blue, Shae Connor, Jevocas Green, Kiernan Kelly, and Eden Winters bring you… Butt Ninjas from Hell. You’ll never see them coming!

Buy Link

Thursday, March 13, 2014

Guest Post & Giveaway: Free Falling by SE Jakes

Thanks so much for having me here today, so I can shout about the fact that Free Falling’s getting a re-release with Riptide!  I’m so excited about this, you have no idea. For me, this is the book that started the Hell or High Water series (see below for more on that).
Free Falling originally came out in December of 2012—it was the first book I self-published, and I worked with Sarah Frantz as my editor (and she’s now my Riptide editor as well) and the entire experience was simply awesome. 
This would also be the second book Prophet inserted himself into (the first was Bound For Keeps).  It was then I realized that the man needed his own series or else he would show up in every single book I wrote.  But for Free Falling, it certainly cemented the bond between Blue and Prophet.  I’ve brought Blue and Mick back in Long Time Gone (Hell or High Water 2) and yes, I’m totally planning a Free Falling sequel, which would happen sometime post Dirty Love (Dirty Deeds 3).  Because I can’t get enough of Blue, my favorite thief, and Mick, the man who’ll chase him every single time. 

The great thing about moving this book to Riptide is that now all my EE, Ltd. books are in one place AND Free Falling will now be available everywhere in eFormat AND in print!!! The cover looks gorgeous in person. 

Every comment on this blog tour enters you in a drawing to win one of three SIGNED copies of Hell or High Water series: Catch a Ghost and Long Time Gone. Entries close at midnight, Eastern Time, on March 24th, and winners will be announced on March 25th.  Contest is valid worldwide.

About Free Falling:
Sometimes falling in love is the most dangerous thing of all.
Blue is a thief who lives for adrenaline and danger. And when he meets Mick, a mercenary, he’s hit with a buzz of attraction like the rush of a high-rise job without a safety rope. But after making plans to get together, Mick leaves him hanging, and Blue vows never again.
A year later, Mick watches helplessly as Blue stumbles into the middle of one of Mick’s jobs. Risking his cover and their lives, Mick saves Blue and cares for him as he recuperates, but neither man has any idea how to handle the intimacy this forces them into.
Once Blue is safe, Mick redoubles his efforts to take down the drug lord responsible—and disappears. Blue goes after him, determined to return the favor and rescue the man he loves, no matter the cost.

This is a revised second edition of the originally self-published title. No substantive changes have been made to the story.
About SE Jakes:
SE Jakes writes m/m romance. She believes in happy endings and fighting for what you want in both fiction and real life.
She lives in New York with her family, and most days, she can be found happily writing (in bed). No really...

Tuesday, March 11, 2014

Spotlight Tour & Giveaway: To the Very Last Inch by Heidi Belleau and Amelia C. Gormley

Hi! We’re Heidi Belleau and Amelia C. Gormley, and we’re here to let you know that our kinky series The Professor’s Rule is coming to an end. The last two novelettes--Every Inch of the Way and To the Very Last Inch--are out now from Riptide Publishing, and to celebrate, we’re touring the web with a contest and a free bonus short. You’ll have to follow the whole tour to read the short in its entirety, but since every comment you make along the tour gets you an entry in our contest, there’s plenty of reasons to tag along.
  If you haven’t yet heard of The Professor’s Rule, here’s a quick crash course (see what we did there?)

School is back in session.

When undergrad student James Sheridan set out to seduce his way into a better grade, he had no idea what he was signing on for. Professor Evander Carson wasn’t about to trade a good grade for sexual favors, but he was definitely willing to tutor his wayward pupil in far more than history.

By the end of their tumultuous relationship, James not only excelled academically, his sexual horizons had expanded to include pleasures—and agonies—the likes of which he’d never dreamed. But enough was more than enough, and James fled from his Professor, unsure of where his limits lay or if he had the wherewithal to set boundaries.

Two years later, a chance misdial puts James back in contact with his former instructor and brings all his old cravings back in force, leaving him yearning to kneel once again at his Professor’s feet. But James has a new life now, with new sexual and romantic prospects—most notably the charming menswear salesman Satish Malhotra. Still, the pull to return to Professor Carson is a powerful thing. Can James give in to it without giving up his newfound confidence and budding romance?

The complete collection is on sale now for 40% off, and if you’d like to try before you buy, Giving an Inch (The Professor’s Rule #1) is free wherever ebooks are sold!

About Every Inch of the Way and To the Very Last Inch

In Every Inch of the Way, Satish Malhotra is in over his head. What appeared to be the hookup of his dreams turned out to be another man’s kinky sex game, and thus ended his relationship with sweet, submissive James Sheridan before it’d hardly begun.

Or so he thought. Being used in someone else’s domination/submission play should have been a deal breaker, yet James—bruises, boyfriend, and all—is too compelling to let walk away. But James has needs Satish isn’t sure he can fulfill, and it seems his mysterious Professor isn’t willing to share.

Can Satish keep James happy in bed and in life, or will James be forced to choose between his dominant and his burgeoning vanilla romance with Satish?

In To the Very Last Inch . . . Just days after their scorching reunion, Professor Evander Carson has kicked his one-time pupil James Sheridan to the curb—and tried to sabotage James’s new relationship with Satish Malhotra. Something isn’t right here, but James isn’t sure he should bother trying to figure out what. Carson isn’t good for him and will never change. He needs to accept that and move on.

Satish knows something is up, too, but he thinks the relationship between Carson and James is worth saving. To do the right thing, Satish will have to make James and Carson confront the secrets they’ve hidden for years and help them to overcome the pain and mistrust they’ve caused.

But if Satish succeeds, where will that leave him and his intensifying romance with James? Will the three of them be able to find the right balance, or will James be forced to choose between the pain and submission he craves with Carson, and the sweet, vanilla stability he’s found with Satish?

About the Authors

Amelia C. Gormley may seem like anyone else. But the truth is she sings in the shower, dances doing laundry, and writes blisteringly hot m/m erotic romance while her son is at school. When she’s not writing in her Pacific Northwest home, Amelia single-handedly juggles her husband, her son, their home, and the obstacles of life by turning into an everyday superhero. And that, she supposes, is just like anyone else. Her self-published novel-in-three-parts, Impulse (Inertia, Book One; Acceleration, Book Two; and Velocity, Book Three) can be found at most major online book retailers, and be sure to check Riptide for her latest releases, including her Highland historical, The Laird’s Forbidden Lover, the The Professor’s Rule series of erotic novelettes (co-written with Heidi Belleau), and Strain. Stay tuned for her upcoming Riptide releases, which include the final two books in The Professor’s Rule (coming the first week of March) and Saugatuck Summer, coming in May.

You can contact Amelia on TwitterFacebookGoodreadsBookLikesTumblr, or contact her by email using the form on the About page at

Heidi Belleau was born and raised in small town New Brunswick, Canada. She now lives in the rugged oil-patch frontier of Northern BC with her husband, an Irish ex-pat whose long work hours in the trades leave her plenty of quiet time to write.

She has a degree in history from Simon Fraser University with a concentration in British and Irish studies; much of her work centred on popular culture, oral folklore, and sexuality, but she was known to perplex her professors with unironic papers on the historical roots of modern romance novel tropes. (Ask her about Highlanders!) Her writing reflects everything she loves: diverse casts of characters, a sense of history and place, equal parts witty and filthy dialogue, the occasional mythological twist, and most of all, love—in all its weird and wonderful forms. She also writes queer-flavoured M/F as Heloise Belleau. 
Chat with her on twitter using the handle Twitter: @HeidiBelleau
Browse her website at or 
Check out her books on Goodreads
Follow her Facebook and Tumblr accounts.
Or contact her using good ole-fashioned email: heidi.heloise.belleau @ 


  • Win an ebook copy of An Inch at a Time (The Professor’s Rule #2) in your choice of formats! All you have to do is leave a comment on this post with a way for us to contact you (email address--posted in comment field, twitter handle, goodreads or facebook account), and you’ll be entered to win! Every comment counts for another entry, so be sure to follow the whole tour

Friday, March 7, 2014

Review: Inches of Trust by AR Moler

Reviewed by Whuppsy
Inches of Trust (Volume 1) by AR Moler
Torquere Press
Short Story: 134pgs
3 Pants Off

When architect Brian Townsend meets a man dressed as Zorro at a Halloween party it seems like a chance hookup, but Brian is attracted and it takes more effort then he originally thought just to find out the man’s name. NYPD homicide detective Tristan Blake, comes from old money, which he loathes and an idealistic streak burns within him to do a job that serves a purpose. A previous lover scorned him as a time when he was most vulnerable, after the death of friend, and Tristan is slow to trust what appears to a developing relationship between him and Brian. 

Beer tasting, a broken window, a fall down a flight of stairs, a grenade and a violent attack on Brian, what do these all have in common? Each one brings Tristan an inch closer to trusting Brian with his heart. 

Previously published as separate short stories.

When I read the blurb for this story and thought to myself “Self, this story sounds like a cute and sweet read. Let’s get this one to review.” So I did and I am glad that I did. It was actually what I needed to read something sweet, cute, and an easy read.

Brian Townsend is this really cute and sweet guy. He’s an architect in New York. Just doing what he does. He’s at this Halloween party where he meets this guy dressed as Zorro. They have a few intimate moments at that party and Zorro leaves without telling his name or any way to get a hold of him. Now, Brian is a resourceful guy and he asks around and gets his name and email address.

Tristian Blake is a Homicide Detective for the NYPD. He’s this really passionate, sweet guy who has been hurt in the past from a former lover. He’s somewhat openly gay in his job, so there are some bigots about in his work life. Tristian comes from money and his family HATES that he’s this lowly cop. He could be working in the family business, but he wants to do something that helps others. That he feels so passionate about what he does makes him an even better character. I liked that about him.

This story had a few moments of angst, but not too many. When Tristian got hurt and again when Brian got hurt. There was the brief moment when Tristian’s Ex, comes into the picture, but that was so very brief that I almost wouldn’t count that.

This book did have this one thing that drove me nuts…the author kept repeating the characters full names at the beginning of each chapter, as if I didn’t know who they were. Also, repeating what just happened in the previous chapter. I read it a moment ago, I’m pretty sure that I got what happened. I really don’t need the recap, swear.

Overall, this was sweet read. Didn’t really take too much time and also just had enough sweetness and light to keep you happy. The character development was nice and other than the few things that distracted me and drove me nuts, was a pretty sweet read. You’ll enough this story for it being just a pretty nice read. You will just have this nice, pleasant feeling that all is good in the world while reading this story.

3 Pants Off