Friday, June 27, 2014

Review: Everything East of the Sumida River by Kaneyoshi Shikaku & Heiko Shihenki

Reviewed by SinChan
Everything East of the Sumida River by Kaneyoshi Shikaku & Heiko Shihenki
Dreamspinner Press
Novel: 344pgs
5 Pants Off

Japanese businessman Takamatsu Masamune takes great pride in the empire he built from nothing. His shady past and connections to the underworld prove he has no problems getting his hands dirty, but his fondness for beautiful things gets him into trouble.

Captivating Naoya Tashimo performs as a traditional dancer in sordid underground clubs. While he loves to dance, other men viewing him as an erotic object has left him numb. Caught in a summer storm, Naoya seeks shelter inside a local import shop where company owner Takamatsu and his PA, Koji, are attending to some business. Immediately smitten, Takamatsu woos Naoya and wants to give him the world.

When they learn each other’s secrets, it tests the tenuous trust they’ve built. Takamatsu wants to own Naoya for himself. Having dealt with greedy, possessive men, Naoya turns his back on all that Takamatsu offers. In exchange to truly have what he wants, can Takamatsu give up everything he built?

Takamatsu is a rich businessman with an import/export empire in Tokyo after traveling the Western world. When a rare beauty, Denka, walks into his store, Takamatsu is immediately taken with him. Denka's traditionalist family pressures him with dancing and entertaining guests until he threatens to break. Takamatsu tries to win Denka over and give him hope to live freely out of his mother's influence. However, negotiations with Denka’s mother for Denka’s freedom stall when they threaten his business empire.

Denka is a geisha and all his services are managed by his mother. Patrons can buy him for an evening and his earnings go to his mother. He's tired of false words and selling illusions, but his mother cares too much about money and power to let him go. When his mother pressures him to con Takamatsu into buying him an expensive kimono, that kimono becomes a symbol of trust in Takamatsu for Denka. I really enjoy the struggle of how Denka copes as a geisha living around drunken patrons and trying to live as a normal teenager. His relationship with Takamatsu is like a patron-geisha relationship that deepens into something Takamatsu would risk everything for. They don't say "I love you" but it's clear their feelings run deep.

I'm super envious of Takamatsu for having a PA like Koji. Koji almost seem superhuman when he caters to Takamatsu's whims and completes his duty to perfection. However, his services seem to come at a price and it's interesting to see the dynamic between Takamatsu and Koji when Takamatsu is not the "master." I like how each characters have their eccentricities. Takamatsu seems like a gentleman and doesn't take advantage of Denka but he has his own secrets too.

This novel is a build up of several intricate layers of plots and written with a very Japanese feel to the story. It's fitting for the story with its atypical contemporary romance and political/economical intrigue. The novel has beautiful language and descriptions of clothing that are almost too poetic for the novel. The story line moves subtly and may seem confusing, since the dynamics between key political players aren't clear and a lot of business dealing happens behind the scenes. Even now, I still don't quite understand what happened beyond the romance. However, as a romance novel, this is a great work that offers a very different vibe from other contemporary romance novels.

5 Pants Off

Guest Post & Giveaway: Tequila Mockingbird by Rhys Ford

~I have Rhys Ford on the blog today and you know she always bring the awesmazing. She even brought a giveaway and lets be real, you all need a book by this author. Help me welcome this amazing talent.~

Why do you authors write insta-love? WHY?

I get this question flung at me a lot. Sometimes in a review. Other times on a piece of paper thrown through my laptop monitor. Or even in person while I’m innocently plotting to kill some random person and there’s a cup of coffee with my name on it behind an understaffed bar.

Why do some pairings fall in love so quickly? It’s not realistic… it’s not….real! I know. Trust me. I know. There have been some books where I’m all… dudes, at least find out each other’s last names before you marry and have kids. It’s like drive through drunken Vegas orgy wedding chapel stories. I admit it. But ah, that just begs the question again.


Oddly enough, it’s a pretty simple answer.

Because we don’t have time.

Well, sometimes I don’t. Because I’m busy murdering people and things aren’t very suspenseful if there are weeks in between murders. The impending doom thing tends to lessen if I have to fill the weeks between finding a head affixed to the mailbox with chatter and walks on the beach or day trips up the coast to get ice cream at this one special place that milks its own malt dandelions for its shakes.

I don’t have the time. Not between the pages. Not if it’s a wholly contained book.

It’s not the time to write the story but rather the time that passes and what is pressing up against the glass as the story is unfolding. See, that’s the downfall of writing a couple who has to meet, greet, love, fight and smex while other stuff is going on around them.


Oh and timing is a bitch and a half. Trust me on that one.

A major part of writing a mystery is parsing out what happens when. Murder a few people and you’ve got a clock running. Too much time passes and the cops’ investigation will fall off. That’s just how it works. I think I’d love to do a Cold Case detective. I might in the future. That would be cool.

Ah, squirrel moment there.

No, insta-love, for me anyway, happens because there aren’t enough hours in the day on paper to have a long courtship if I’m contained to a single book. Stretch it out to a series, and now we’re talking.

So, the question is sometimes also how can an author make insta-love work or rather minimize the impact on the story. It helps if the characters already know one another but that’s not always the case. A big one in the pro-insta column is tension and stress because that does tend to bind people together.

Tying two men to a chair with the water rising and the only way they can get free is if they work together really does make a good relationship builder. They can always look back and laugh—reminiscing on that day when they met and almost became soup.

Insta-love won’t go away—at least not in a standalone and especially if there are body parts and such flinging about. What? I fling a lot of bodies. I do try to stretch it out to at least a few weeks. The insta-love. Not the body flinging. I’ve known people who got married after knowing one another for a couple of weeks…and those people are still married decades later so technically, I’ve got some empirical data there.

But ah, the sooner they fall in love—or least like—I can trot out the Tab A goes into Slot B scenes and go back off to murdering the innocent bystanders.

Murder and mayhem…totally worth the insta-love. *grins*

OH and a Giveaway! Would you like to win…. Drum roll…..
Any ebook from my backlist

If so, please leave a comment below and one name will be selected randomly or randomly selected or one random name will be selected.

Tequila Mockingbird
Sequel to Whiskey and Wry (and The Devil’s Brew)
Sinners Series: Book Three

Lieutenant Connor Morgan of SFPD’s SWAT division wasn’t looking for love. Especially not in a man. His life plan didn’t include one Forest Ackerman, a brown-eyed, blond drummer who’s as sexy as he is trouble. His family depends on him to be like his father, a solid pillar of strength who’ll one day lead the Morgan clan.

No, Connor has everything worked out—a career in law enforcement, a nice house, and a family. Instead, he finds a murdered man while on a drug raid and loses his heart comforting the man’s adopted son. It wasn’t like he’d never thought about men — it’s just loving one doesn’t fit into his plans.

Forest Ackerman certainly doesn’t need to be lusting after a straight cop, even if Connor Morgan is everywhere he looks, especially after Frank’s death. He’s just talked himself out of lusting for the brawny cop when his coffee shop becomes a war zone and Connor Morgan steps in to save him.

Whoever killed his father seems intent on Forest joining him in the afterlife. As the killer moves closer to achieving his goal, Forest tangles with Connor Morgan and is left wondering what he’ll lose first—his life or his heart.

Purchase Tequila Mockingbird at:

Also available on Amazon, Are and other online book stores.

Rhys Ford was born and raised in Hawai'i then wandered off to see the world. After chewing through a pile of books, a lot of odd food, and a stray boyfriend or two, Rhys eventually landed in San Diego, which is a very nice place but seriously needs more rain.

Rhys admits to sharing the house with three cats of varying degrees of black fur and a ginger cairn terrorist. Rhys is also enslaved to the upkeep a 1979 Pontiac Firebird, a Toshiba laptop, and an overworked red coffee maker.


  • Must be 18yrs or older
  • Leave a comment along with email
  • Winner has 48hrs to reply or another winner will be chosen
  • Contest runs until July 2nd 2014 at 11:59pm EST

Thursday, June 26, 2014

Review: Love Comes in Darkness by Andrew Grey

Reviewed by SinChan
Love Comes In Darkness (Senses #2)  by Andrew Grey
Dreamspinner Press
Novel: 204pgs
3 Pants Off

Howard Justinian has always had to fight for his freedom. Because he was born blind, everyone is always trying to shelter him, but he’s determined to live his life on his own terms.

When an argument with his boyfriend over that hard-won self-reliance leaves Howard stranded by the side of the road, assistance arrives in the form of Gordy Jarrett. Gordy is a missionary’s son, so helping others is second nature—and he does it in such an unassuming manner that Howard can’t say no.

Life is barely back on track when Howard receives shocking news: his sister died, leaving him her daughter to care for. Howard now faces his greatest challenge yet: for Sophia’s safety, he’ll need to accept help, but will he learn to accept it from Gordy, the one man who will not curb his independence?

Howard is born blind but wants to be independent and live a normal life. When Cedric, his ex boyfriend, dumps him by the side of a highway, Gordy comes along and helps him out. As Howard gets a guide dog and deals with death in the family, his relationship with Gordy deepens.

As the story progresses, Howard gets more responsibility and actually becomes as independent as he wished. He gets a leader dog to guide him and also gains experience taking care of another rather than letting others take care of him. Later on, he steps up for his family and takes responsibility for his niece. I love the way the story progresses and shows how much Howard grew to live independently but also become someone who's don't afraid to ask others for help. His relationship with Gordy and his niece are portrayed wonderfully.

Gordy is a softhearted giant man from a homophobic family. He understands Howard's need for independence and doesn't want to control him like Cedric. Sometimes, he knows Howard better than himself and gives him space. All in all, he has a very caring and considerate personality that fits perfectly with Howard's.

The story events are on the mild side. Nothing thrilling or suspenseful happens that have me gripping my seat and turning the pages. The main attraction to the story is to see how Howard grows as an adult and cope with changes in his life, from having a lover to taking custody of a child.

Fans of Andrew Grey's earlier work, Love Comes Silently, would enjoy having Ken, Hanna, and Patrick back and seeing how their lives continue on. Love Comes in Darkness isn't as intense and doesn't have the threat of death hanging around for the majority of the story like Love Comes Silently, but it is still a very enjoyable read.

3 Pants Off
Review: Book #1 Love Comes Silently

Review: The Protector by Cooper West

Reviewed by Whuppsy
The Protector by Cooper West
Dreamspinner Press
Novel: 250pgs
3 Pants Off

Guardsmen are always matched in a bonded pair. The Protector can shift into a weredog, and the human partner is his Handler. They are incredibly rare and highly valued, but people also fear them for their mystical abilities. No Protector in living memory has outlived his Handler—until Alex Taylor. 

Now a widower, Alex lives a lonely half-life and faces day after day of grief with no hope for happiness in the future. When he unexpectedly bonds with the young and vibrant Handler Marcus Stephanek, Alex is angry and unwilling to leave the memory of his former Handler behind. He pushes Marcus away and tries to distance himself from their bond. But then a mysterious villain who has been secretly shadowing Alex for years sets his plan in motion. Alex and Marcus must learn to trust their bond and love each other, or risk not only their own lives but the lives of those closest to them.

I wanted to read this book as I thought that this book would add a new dimension to shifter books that I had previously read. It did, and it was a different kind of book.

Alex Taylor has been bonded before to Theo. Theo was special in that he didn’t specialize in any one direction for his career. He wanted to wait until he got bonded and took into consideration what his Protector, Alex wanted to do for a career. That made the bond between these two men so very special to Alex. The thing with being a Protector and Handler is that when the Handler dies, the Protector dies as well. That’s always happened, until Alex survived Theo’s death. Alex has been alone since Theo’s death 3 years ago. Alex has been researching since Theo’s death to see how he survived. Alex is so lonely, heartbroken and he’s grieving. There is so much that isn’t happening in his life, that it’s hard for him to really find a balance and go forward.

 Marcus Stephanek is a 26 year-old Handler that is un-bonded. It’s a source of huge embarrassment, shame and desperation for him. He knows what career choice he wants to do and all that he’s waiting for is his Protector. Marcus is quite frankly….AMAZING!! He’s got lots of degrees, he teaches at the Institute from which Handlers and Protectors are trained. Marcus finds his Protector in Alex and this isn’t what he expected. Alex is still in love and grieving for the loss of his Handler, Theo. How do you fight against the memory of a loved one who died? That seems to be Marcus’ greatest battle in gaining Alex’s love and trust.

This story had so many complex layers that I really liked. I liked the fact that Alex was trying to deal with the death of Theo. Trying to move forward and not finding a way to. The wanting of something that will complete your life and make everything turn into roses, and to have that something come true and still not be what you imagined it to be. How do you make a new life with someone you don’t want to? The mystery/suspense portion of the story was really well done. I knew who it was before they told you, he was a really scuzzy character, how could you not?

I will say that I was really tired of the back and forth that Alex had going on. I get that the love of his life passed away, I do. But he got hit with another bond that could be the very best thing that could happen to him and he kept throwing that away. It was really maddening to me.

This was a surprisingly good book. I really enjoyed the mystery/suspense aspect of it. This was a very character driven story and it flowed along really smoothly. You were never jarred out of the story. Overall, this was a good book and I’d say take the chance on a different kind of “mate bond”.

3 Pants Off

Guest Post: Writng As A New Mom: Good For A Laugh by Jena Wade

So many changes – so little time to reflect on them.

I’ve only been writing for a year and a half, and I’ve been published less than a year so this is all sooo very very new to me. But it has been an incredible journey and I have loved every minute of it.

And now, I am on an entirely new journey… as a new mom. JM was born April 4th, 2014 and I have been on maternity leave every since, so I’ve had plenty of free time to write (NOT). I have had a bit of time, but it’s mostly been spent editing new stories. My goal was to write a 30K novel while on maternity leave – HA – That didn’t happen. I didn’t even get to the outline. Turns out a new baby takes a lot of time – no one told me that. Just kidding.

Luckily – someone was smart and invented the baby carrier. Many a days I find myself with my son in my baby carrier while I type away on a new story. This should be fun to tell him about when he is old enough to understand the kind of… um… delicate writing that mommy does and how he used to be my little helper.

Being a mom has changed so much of my writing style and really has made me more focused on my writing since every moment is crucial – and could be interrupted at any time. Many many times I have had to get up mid sentence and take care of something – only to return three days later and wonder what the end of the sentence was supposed to be. I’ve learned to be a quicker writer who isn’t easily distracted by twitter, facebook, or pinterest. Hopefully this will pay off…

Now I just have to tackle how to tell my son what mommy writes… and how to get him to NOT tell his pre-school class… Also I probably shouldn’t let him take my books in for Show-and-Tell…

Technically Dating by Jena Wade

Coming June 25th from Dreamspinner Press

Meek and mild Bruce Collins decides to set aside his life in technical support for the evening and try a wild night on the town. Self-described nerd Bruce meets suave Westley Taylor at a club, but the night doesn’t go as planned. When they run into each other the next day, Bruce is determined to get the details right and finish what they started. Westley is impressed and invites Bruce on date after date. Bruce figures they’re technically dating and might even be in a relationship, until he accidentally overhears a phone message intended for Westley. Every aspect of their time together comes into question. Now, it’s time for Westley to set the facts straight.


“I’m sorry.” Bruce sighed and cupped Westley’s face with his hands. “Any chance we could postpone this until later?”The temptation to say yes lingered on his lips, but they still had the issue of where they were going to hook up. Mature Westley choose that time to remind him

of his responsibilities. “I have to work early tomorrow.” He couldn’t exactly start his walk of shame at his place of work. Though, it was appealing.

Bruce kissed him hard and then smoothed Westley’s swollen lips with the pad of his thumb. “I’m going to dream about these lips tonight.” He stepped back, and Westley felt the loss in the pit of his stomach.

“I’m sorry,” Bruce said.

“Me too.”

Westley stood in the parking lot of the club and watched Bruce walk away. The sound of the club thumped in the background, and the laughter of the partygoers reached his ears, but he ignored it.

Seeing Bruce again was unlikely. If he was staying at the hotel, that meant he wasn’t local.

Loss settled in Westley’s chest when Bruce got into his car and drove out of sight.


Wednesday, June 25, 2014

Review: Perfect Imperfections by Cardeno C.

Reviewed by Whuppsy
Perfect Imperfections by Cardeno C.
Dreamspinner Press
Novel: 210pgs
4.5 Pants Off

Hollywood royalty Jeremy Jameson has lived a sheltered life with music as his sole focus and only friend. Before embarking on yet another international concert tour, he wanders into a bar in what he considers the middle of nowhere and meets a man who wins him over with his friendly smile and easy-going nature. Accountant slash bartender slash adventure-seeker Reg Moore has fun talking and drinking with The Jeremy Jameson and can’t say no when the supposedly straight rock star makes him a once in a lifetime offer: keep him company on his tour by playing the part of his boyfriend. 

Listening to music, traveling the world, and jumping off cliffs is fun. Falling in love is even better. But to stay with Jeremy after the stage lights dim, Reg will need to help him realize there’s nothing pretend about their relationship.

So, let’s start out saying that I have read Cardeno C.’s books before and I’m a fan. So, I jumped at the chance to read her new book and BOY AM I GLAD THAT I DID!!

Jeremy Jameson is like any other child of Hollywood & Rock royalty; he’s been sheltered from the worst of the business until he had turned 18. He’s a Superstar Musician and he’s getting ready to go on tour again and he just needed to get away for awhile. Jeremy is the kind of person that wants to be so much better than his parents. Jeremy actually is really kind and so loving. It’s just that he’s used to not really trusting others. Jeremy doesn’t think that he’s worth falling in love with. As Jeremy has been told by his former lovers and what his childhood was like with his parents. So, he just assumes that he’s going to be alone for the rest of his life. He’s been told that he’s needy and that he’s high-maintenance. He’s not as bad as he’s been led to believe.

Reg Moore is this zen-like guy who is bartending in Munds Park, AZ where he still has family. Reg has had a career in Accounting and decided that it wasn’t for him, so bartending it is. He’s also this adventurer who loves doing new things. Exploring what this life has to offer. Reg is just the coolest guy that I’ve read about in a long time. He’s so zen-like and he’s so kind and so very generous and yet, his loyalty and his love are the two best qualities that he has, IMHO. Reg is so much fun and he’s just so sweet and I just love the way he finds his way to acceptance on things. I liked him A LOT!!

The secondary characters in this book were pretty good. I loved Jeremy’s manager, Bill, he was in parts funny and in others, and he gave hard truths. This is part and parcel of who he is. He made me laugh out loud a couple of times. I got who he was and I admired that he was so very honest about what he was saying and doing. Becky Parks was such a great character. She’s smarter than all get out and has this wonderful personality. She was such a cool woman and didn’t’ have designs to do anything other than her job. It was really nice to see.

This was such a character driven story. I liked that it was a slow burn book. That Jeremy and Reg took the time to be friends before they became lovers. It was sweet and sexy and it was just right. There wasn’t much angst in this story and It would have been so wrong to have it there. This book was just perfect the way it was. These two guys were so sweet together. I loved how they took their time falling in love with each other. They had a nice basis of friendship and allowed their feelings to grow from there.

This was a really nice feel good book and you will not be disappointed in reading this story. If you’re looking for something fun and sweet and just a bit sexy….this is the book for you.

4.5 Pants Off

Review: Love Comes Silently by Andrew Grey

Reviewed by SinChan
Love Comes Silently (Senses #1) by Andrew Grey
Dreamspinner Press
Novel: 200pgs
4 Pants Off

Caring for a loved one with cancer is tough. Doing it alone is overwhelming—especially when that loved one is a child. But ever since Ken Brighton’s partner left him, Ken has spent his days at the hospital with his daughter, Hanna, hoping for a miracle. Maybe the mysterious care packages that appear for Hanna don’t qualify, but they bring a spark of hope into his and Hanna’s tired life—and so does Ken’s neighbor, former singer Patrick Flaherty. 

For two years Patrick hasn’t been able to focus on anything but the life he should have had. An injury robbed him of his voice, and the idea of introducing himself to new people intimidates him. But over the past months, he’s watched as his neighbor nursed his sick child, and once he meets Ken, Patrick starts to crave a life with him—a life he isn't sure he can have. 

Ken doesn’t realize he’s fallen in love until the doctors send Hanna home, saying there’s nothing more they can do: Hanna will either recover or succumb. Ken’s heart is set on a new beginning—with both Patrick and Hanna. But Patrick's silence leaves Ken wondering what Patrick wants.

Ken is taking care of Hanna, his 6 year old adopted daughter who has pediatric leukemia. Because of this, his relationship with his boyfriend, Mark, is strained and they eventually breaks up. Hanna's cancer treatments caused hair lost and prompt the appearance of cute pink hats from Ken's neighbor, Patrick. Patrick is mute and puts himself down for losing his voice. But as Ken and Patrick grow closer, Hanna seems to grow weaker and weaker from her treatments. The small family tries to cherish their time together but everyone is afraid that Hanna will not make it till the end of the year.

I love that this book shows children as perspective little beings and emotionally stronger than what their parents think. Hanna is such a cutie and understanding of what struggles Ken is going through. The comical moments in the story and the saddest moments are caused by Hanna. Her question about sex and gay marriage makes Ken so awkward that it is funny. Her sweetness makes it sadder to see her suffer through the cancer treatments and turns this into a tearjerker novel.

The way Ken and Patrick progressed from friends to lovers is also well done. They are both lovable characters. Ken is a great father and his worry and love for Hanna really comes through. Patrick is mute but he's thoughtful and resourceful. He gives Hanna gifts without telling her it was from him. He plans early Halloween and Christmas parties for Hanna and includes the whole community to show their support for Hanna. He stops being a singer when he lost his voice due to an accident, but he uses other talents to make a living. Meeting Ken and Hanna helps Patrick to let go of his past, learn sign language, and integrate back into society.

I also love how art is incorporated into the story and it is something meaningful and unique to the characters. Ken is an artist and little Hanna is taking after her dad to have amazing drawing skills. Hanna's drawings leave lasting impressions on the doctors and nurses at the hospital and Ken's drawing of Patrick helped Patrick to overcome his past as a singer. Their artwork heals some people and gives them a little happiness back.

I just have a tiny lingering question about the ex boyfriend, Mark. He doesn't seem like a bad person and he has a good relationship with Hanna. It would have been better for Mark and Ken to remain friends than try to get back together. I wanted him to keep contact with the family and be a support for them rather than cause problems. The last communication they had where Mark tries to win Ken back seems out of character when they broke up so amiably in the beginning. I was looking for a happy ending for him too, but the story stopped for him when he and Ken broke up.

Overall, this is a heart-wrenching novel about falling in love with someone disabled and coping with disability and cancer. It's a really hopeful story that would resonate with many people.

4 Pants Off

Book Blast & Giveaway: Forever Hold his peace by Rebecca Cohen

Book Name: Forever Hold His Peace: The Crofton Chronicles: Book Three

Author Name: Rebecca Cohen

Sebastian Hewel has never been happier. But his life playing the role of his twin sister Bronwyn, the wife of Anthony Redbourn, Earl of Crofton, is about to change. Rumors abound that Bronwyn is using witchcraft to enthrall her husband, and false evidence has been found. Practicing witchcraft is a crime that could have Bronwyn brought in for questioning by the sheriff, and that would reveal Sebastian and Anthony’s secret.

Together they must decide whether it is time to lay Bronwyn to rest. Anthony intends to ensure that whoever implicated Bronwyn pays for the treacherous deed. Whatever happens, Sebastian and Anthony must prepare to face an unknown future together.

Author Bio:
Rebecca Cohen is a Brit abroad. Having swapped the Thames for the Rhine, she has left London behind and now lives with her husband and baby son in Basel, Switzerland. She can often be found with a pen in one hand and a cup of Darjeeling in the other.

Author Links: 



DSP author page: 

Amazon author page: 

Cover Artist: Anne Cain

Publisher: Dreamspinner Press

Tour Dates: June 23 – July 7
Tour Stops: June 23: Hearts on Fire, Parker Williams June 24: 3 Chicks After Dark, MM Good Books June 25: Amanda C. Stone, Pants Off Review June 26: Love Bytes, Iyana Jenna June 27: Havan Fellows, Kimi-Chan, LeAnn’s Book Reviews June 30: My Fiction Nook, Tara Lain July 1: Nephylim, Cate Ashwood July 2: Jade Crystal, Scattered Thoughts & Rogue Words July 3: Elisa Rolle July 4: The Hat Party July 7: Prism Book Alliance


Sebastian fiddled with the seal on Anthony’s desk. “I just ask that maybe you were not quite so free with your compliments. No wonder some women think you are dissatisfied at home.”
“Court is a game, and it is played very differently as a man. You have not seen that side of it—perhaps it is time you did.”
For a moment he thought Anthony was jesting, but Anthony’s thoughtful look told Sebastian he was serious. He did not enjoy court. He only went because Anthony had said it was necessary for Lady Crofton to attend. But Sebastian Hewel wasn’t nobility. His father had been a naval captain.
“I am not the sort of man who is seen at court,” he said, hoping to prevent the seed from growing in Anthony’s mind.

“You do have some strange notions, Sebastian. You are the brother of Lady Crofton, and she is the wife of one of Queen Elizabeth’s favorite courtiers. Of course you’re the kind of man who should be seen at court. It is only because of an oversight on my part that I had not thought to take you before.”

 a Rafflecopter giveaway

  Rafflecopter Prize: E-Copy of the new book, “Forever Hold His Peace – Crofton Chronicles: Book Three

Sales Links:


Tuesday, June 24, 2014

Review: Tread Marks & Trademarks by S.A McAuley

Reviewed by SinChan
Tread Marks & Trademarks (Team Maker Jock #1) by S.A McAuley
Wilde City Press
Novel: 200pgs
5 Pants Off

Alex Maddox may be a genius. Or not. In thirty-four days he’ll know for sure. The robot he’s been perfecting for the last four years is finally ready. Alex won’t accept anything less than perfection—if he can keep a broken air conditioner, a flaky twin brother, a thirtieth birthday, and falling for the Norse god of advertising from derailing him.

Christian Lawson is an advertising god. A blond hottie with the beautiful brains to match. He’s worked hard to move past the accident that nearly took his legs, but it’s been years since he let any man get close enough to see just how deep his scars really go.

Christian isn’t the advertising executive Alex expected, and Alex isn’t the coolly confident inventor Christian’s had his eye on for years. But what they discover in each other may just be better than what either of them could have hoped for.

Alex is working on a robot with the newest technology that can potentially change the world of robotics. His twin brother and friends set him up with an advertising/marketing agent, Christian, and they hit it off. Together, they design and present Alex's robot at the Maker Summit. Alex worries if his presentation will be a success, but when it is, there is another set of problems.

Alex is gay and geeky. He prefers commitment over one night stands and continuously seeks the man who loves what he loves and understands his geeky side. He's a very endearing character and I love his interactions with his twin brother, Micah. Alex is the smart and geeky one while Micah is the life of a party. They pretend they are on bad terms but they really care about each other. Micah and his lover play a major role as Alex's support system and guide him throughout the story.

The romance between Alex and Christian doesn't seem forced (their mutual geekiness probably helped with that). Christian is super charming and excels at his job. He has a bad leg from a motor accident, which further shows how he copes with lost and trauma. His imperfections make him very human and easy to connect with. Even though their development into full time lovers seem a little fast, they are perfect for each other.

The second half of the story focuses on Christian and paying for surgeries on his leg. In addition, the team is trying to take Alex's robot to an international level on their own and they need financial help. Christain's old flame steps in and causes some trouble between Christian and Alex. This half of the novel has a different feel because it's more focused on Christian. It's not as exciting as the first half because Alex is the more excitable character and the anticipation of the robot's success is greater in the first half. Nevertheless, the second half is important as a sequel and answers how Christian and Alex will work as lovers in the long term.

This is a really creative story with a lot of details on robotics and marketing but they fit in naturally with the dialogue and aren't overbearing. I love the use of acronyms in the story and other little touches help to orient the reader to the high-tech, creative maker culture. It's fun to read about the maker culture that Alex is a part of and how that fits into the economic world. This story has excellent writing and fabulous characters that really help to make the novel an enjoyable read for me.

5 Pants Off

Review: When Love Comes to Town by Jacob Z. Flores

Reviewed by Whuppsy
When Love Comes to Town (Provincetown #4) by Jacob Z. Flores
Dreamspinner Press
Novel: 236pgs
4 Pants Off

"Provincetown: Book Four"

Brody O Shea isn't looking for much, just a hot guy with a decent job, who is sane and doesn t have kids. The son of a former rock star, Brody has lived through the pain of bankruptcy and bad parenting, and he doesn't want to experience it again. As a reformed horndog, he wants the security and stability of a relationship. But almost every guy he meets seems satisfied with Mr. Right Now, and he wants to find Mr. Right now!

The only men Eric Vasquez chases are criminals. As a deputy and single father, he has no need for a relationship after his last one ended disastrously. He lives for and through Maddie, his nine-year-old daughter. Everything else is a needless distraction, but distraction is what Eric gets when he comes to Provincetown to attend the wedding between his cousin Van and the man of his dreams.

When Brody and Eric meet, what they want and what they find conflict. An ocean of expectations separates them. If they cannot move past their reservations to reach each other s shores, they might miss the boat when love comes to town."

This sweet and touching story is the fourth book in the Provincetown series. Brody O’Shea is this wonderful character that made me laugh and also made me feel sad for his childhood. Brody is an only child and he’s learned the hard way that parenting isn’t an easy job. He hasn’t really done relationships in the past, as he’s never really seen healthy ones before moving to Provincetown. He has decided that he is going to meet Mr. Right and not Mr. Right Now. Brody also has a list of requirements that they should meet; and one of them is no kids. Brody isn’t a bad guy. He actually is a really good guy. He’s charming, funny and is really kind. I love that he’s an actor and works at a gym. Brody just has so many sweet qualities that I loved. Brody is such a old soul and has such wisdom.

Eric Vasquez is a wonderful man who married the love of his life and had a child together. Then the unthinkable happens and he’s now a single father. Erick has taken all that has happened and kept going on for his daughter. Now, 2 years after Charlie’s death, Eric and Maddie are on their way to Eric’s cousin, Van’s wedding. It’s a good distraction from what has become their life at home. Once there, they will meet new people and be able to see sights that they’ve not seen. For just a little bit, they will be somewhere that no one knows what they’ve been through and they can just be. Eric is this really nice guy. He loves his family very much. He’s had lots of sadness in his life and that holds sway to how he deals with some things in his life. He’s a great dad, a bit protective of his daughter, but who wouldn’t be after the loss of your husband and her father.

The secondary characters in this story were funny and charming. You get to see the guys from the previous books and you get to see how they are coming along in their relationships. Gary, Quinn, Tara and Irene show up as well. It was great to see these couples who have been a part of the series again. My favorite character had to be Maddie, Eric’s daughter. She was funny, sarcastic, and so very precocious. She had Poppa’s best interests at heart. She liked Brody and felt that those two would be good together. Maddie has a bearing that is far older than her age and yet, there is still so much that is childlike about her. Her sweetness and innocence comes through no matter what the situation is. She’s one of my favorite child characters that I’ve EVER read.

I really liked this book. I liked how Brody and Eric had issues that they needed to work through and the way in which they did it. I liked how they finally came clean with each other and I really liked where they did it. It was such a wonderful story of two men coming together and falling in love. I really liked the addition of one of the characters having a child. It made them becoming a family so much sweeter to me. There was virtually no angst in this book, which made this story even better for me.

This is a sweet, fluffy, happy read. If you want to read something that will make you smile and have that happy, everyone’s in love flutters in your tummy then this is definitely the book for you. This is the final book in the series and it was a great wrap up. If you read the series, you’ll enjoy the sweetness that is this book. If you’ve not read this series, now is the time to get them all and enjoy the boys of Provincetown!!

4 Pants Off
Review: Book #1 & 2

Review: The Saucy Minx by Manda Olie

Reviewed by SinChan
The Saucy Minx by Manda Olie
Dreamspinner Press
Short Story: 60pgs
3 Pants Off

With a touch of the magic that gives his recipes a culinary kick, Jack Killian has been running his restaurant, the Saucy Minx, for nearly a decade—almost as long as there’s been a spell out there promising to knock him off his feet should he ever meet the other half of his whole. Each day Jack delights his clientele by magically imbuing his food with taste and emotion, even as he slowly loses hope that the man of his dreams even exists.

But when he hires a new dessert manager, his whole life turns upside-down, because his dream man does exist—and he just strolled into the restaurant on someone else’s arm. While conducting business as usual, Jack struggles through what it means when destiny hands you the perfect man on a platter you’re not allowed to touch.

Andrew runs a restaurant, the Saucy Minx, and Jack is the chef who specializes in magic dishes. Ten years ago, Andrew and Jack cast a spell to find their soul mates but haven't found them yet. They hired a new dessert specialist, Nick, who can revitalize food to their freshness. Nick's boyfriend, Richard, brings his friends, Grant and Chris, from overseas. At first glance, Grant is meant to be with Andrew and Chris is Jack's soul mate, but Grant and Chris are dating each other. Andrew and Jack are crashed but all hope is not lost for them.

It is difficult for me to focus on the main couple (Jack and Chris) when there's a total of three in this story. In general, I think the pace is too fast. I don't have enough time to develop a connection to each main character and fully digest what struggles they went through. There's not enough back story for the main characters for them to be fully developed and to leave a deeper impression. The romance is very much love at first sight.

Having said that, the romance part of the story is very cute, I love the interesting idea of modern witches using magic in food. It's a way to continue their practice, be subtle, avoid detection, and charge people thousands for a "special dish." I especially love the food descriptions (although there weren't many) and the use of a little magic to make the meals one-of-a-kind. Yummy.

Overall, this is a very cute story that leaves a fluffy feeling afterwards. I would recommend this for paranormal fans that want a fluff story.

3 Pants Off

Review: Spirit by John Inman

Reviewed by Whuppsy
Spirit by John Inman
Dreamspinner Press
Novel: 214pgs
5 Pants Off

Jason Day, brilliant designer of video games, is not only a confirmed bachelor, but he’s as gay as a maypole. One wouldn’t think being saddled with his precocious four-year-old nephew for four weeks would be enough to throw him off-kilter. 

Wrong. Timmy, Jason’s nephew, is a true handful. 

But just when Timmy and Uncle Jason begin to bond, and Jason feels he’s getting a grip on this babysitting business once and for all, he’s thrown for a loop by a couple of visitors—one from Tucson, the other from beyond the grave. 

I’m sorry. Say what? 

Toss a murder, a hot young stud, an unexpected love affair, and a spooky-ass ghost with a weird sense of humor into Jason’s summer plans, and you’ve got the makings for one hell of a ride.

This story had so many things going on and it was Wonderful!!

Jason has taken on the responsibility for his nephew Timmy for 4 weeks while his sister and her boyfriend take a vacation to the east coast. Jason had no idea what he was getting into!!

Jason is this wonderfully flaky man. He’s got such loyalty and honor. He’s this single gay man who works from home designing video games. Jason is funny, smart and an all-around good guy. He is this guy who has bought his sister’s house after her husband disappeared years ago. He’s loved this house and is happy to buy it and make it his own. Jason makes me laugh as he has this wonderful sense of humor and he is just flamboyant enough in his ways that just makes him so very endearing. I love listening to him and know that he’s going to make me laugh.

Sam is the other MC in this book. His brother, Paul married Jason’s sister, Sally and had Timmy. Sam is in San Diego to see Timmy and find out what has really happened to Paul. Sally has cut off all communication with Paul’s family. He’s this young man who is an engineer and was in the Navy. He’s got all the wonderful sense of honor and loyalty for family. He loved his brother and he knows that something bad has had to happen for him to leave and not have ANY contact with his family. Sam comes and meets his nephew and meets Jason again for the second time, yet this time is so very different. He’s a grown man with needs that Jason seems to fill.

The secondary characters of Timmy and the resident ghost were just great!! Timmy was this great character. He was not only this wonderfully vibrant child; he was also this smartass child who was on point with his sarcasm. He was not only one of the catalysts in this story, but he was this sweet, innocent child who was wronged in the loss of his father. His mother, Sally and Jack, her boyfriend were these characters that had some screen time and yet, whenever, they were on screen there was always something going on. They just weren’t the nicest of people and you could feel that. The ghost in Jason’s house was the wonderfully big presence. The ghost showed itself to Timmy and to Jason and Sam in ways that scared Jason and Sam, but was always so very gentle with Timmy.

This story had so much happening, the bonding relationship between Jason and Timmy. The romance between Jason and Sam, the ghost and the presence it had in the house. The mystery of who the ghost was and why it reacted the way it did. Not only did this story have a great romance and a mystery to solve (how very Scooby Doo of me). The humor that Timmy, Sam and Jason had working in this story was just the best. I loved the dry, sarcastic humor. I loved that there was lots of smartass comments thrown back and forth. That it was taken in the spirit (great reference of the title, if I do say so) in which it meant. I loved that these three worked not only as a team but worked on becoming a family.

This is one of John’s greatest works and I love all of his books. He’s always got such humor and he can really allow a story to unfold. I enjoy taking the time to read and experience his wonderful body of work and this book is no exception. The story flowed smoothly along and you were never taken out of what was going on in the story. You were on this journey with Jason, Sam and Timmy and you wanted to solve the mystery just as much as they did. You wanted them to have their HEA.

This was worth the read. You won’t regret taking the leap and falling into this story.

5 Pants Off

Friday, June 13, 2014

Spotlight & Giveaway: Cross and Crown by Abigail Roux

When Nick O'Flaherty arrives at the scene of a double homicide to find he has a witness to the crime, he thinks it’s his lucky day. But when he realizes his witness is suffering from amnesia and can’t even remember his own name, Nick wishes he’d gone with his gut and put in for vacation time.

Then Nick’s boyfriend and former Recon teammate, Kelly Abbott, joins him in Boston, and Nick finds his hands a little too full as the case and his personal life collide. The witness he’s dubbed “JD” is being tailed by Julian Cross, a retired CIA hitman. To complicate matters further, JD forms an attachment to Nick that Nick struggles not to respond to as they search for the key to JD’s identity.

Trying to determine whether JD is friend or foe as they investigate the crime puts them on the trail of a much older mystery. When multiple attempts are made on their lives, Nick is forced to turn to old enemies and new allies to solve a centuries-old crime before he and Kelly get added to the history books.

Buy Link

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Monday, June 9, 2014

Book Blast & Giveaway: Duty to the Crown by Rebecca Cohen

Book Name: Duty to the Crown: The Crofton Chronicles: Book Two

Author Name: Rebecca Cohen


Despite the uncomfortable clothing and the gossip at court, Sebastian Hewel is still enjoying the role of Lady Crofton, wife of Anthony Redbourn, Earl of Crofton. But when Queen Elizabeth asks a favor of Anthony, Sebastian’s world fractures and his heart threatens to break. The Queen wants Anthony to seduce Lady Marie Valois, the beautiful daughter of a French noble, to discover the whereabouts of her father, who is wanted by the King of France.
Sebastian knows Anthony can’t refuse the Queen, especially since he has something of a reputation at court. But the situation is further complicated when Lady Marie meets Sebastian without his disguise—and starts flirting with him. Her brother, Lord Nicholas, arrives at Crofton Hall, not happy that his sister has been linked to a man like Anthony, only to find his own head turned by Lady Crofton and her acerbic wit. Contending with the attentions of both siblings—and a very jealous Anthony—would be bad enough. But then Sebastian’s uncle demands Sebastian and Anthony stage Bronwyn’s death to avoid discovery… has been linked to a man like Anthony, only to find his own head turned by Lady Crofton and her acerbic wit. Contending with the attentions of both siblings—and a very jealous Anthony—would be bad enough. But then Sebastian’s uncle demands Sebastian and Anthony stage Bronwyn’s death to avoid discovery… 

Author Bio: Rebecca Cohen is a Brit abroad. Having swapped the Thames for the Rhine, she has left London behind and now lives with her husband and baby son in Basel, Switzerland. She can often be found with a pen in one hand and a cup of Darjeeling in the other.

Author Links: 



DSP author page: 

Amazon author page: 

Cover Artist: Anne Cain

Tour Stops: Fallen Angel Reviews, Prism Book Alliance, 3 Chicks After Dark, My Fiction Nook, Havan Fellows, Love Bytes, MM Good Books, Parker Williams, Elisa Rolle, Nephylim, Iyana Jenna, Lee Brazil, The Hat Party, Cate Ashwood, Dawn’s Reading Nook, It’s Raining Men, Pants Off Review, Amanda C. Stone, LeAnn’s Book Reviews, Kimi-Chan, Tara Lain

 a Rafflecopter giveaway

  Rafflecopter Prize: E-book copy of Duty to the Crown in winner’s choice of format

Sales Links:


Wednesday, June 4, 2014

Guest Post & Giveaway: Dare to Love Forever by JC Wallace

Hi, everyone! I want to thank Pants Off Reviews for hosting a stop on the 
Dare To Love Forever Blog Tour

 DTFL is my second novel and will be released on June 1st. After this post, you will find a blurb 
and excerpt, as well as a chance to enter to win some great prizes at the end of the tour! 

 Check here for links to all of the blogs in the tour. 


 So you may or may not ask why vampires? 

 Well, I did ask why vampires. See, I always said I would never write a vampire story just because there are soooooo many of them. 

 How can you stand out and be fresh in a market overrun with vampire stories? 

 I, myself, love vampire stories from the original Dracula to Anne Rice, Buffy/Angel (yes I admit a love of them both) and M/M stories featuring vampires. Vampire lore is long and varied, but there seems to be some general ideas about vampires that have survived in stories. So, how do you take lore that steadfastly shows up in all genres of vampire stories and make it fresh and unique? 

 You challenge the lore and throw in some supernatural elements. (I hope-fingers crossed!) 

 A few ways I tried to put a spin on the vampire story: 

 Vampires are a subset of the human species that have simply evolved with the need to drink blood. No immortality. No living dead. No bursting into flames in the sunlight. Of course, they still have the fangs because those are hot! 

 Vampires are known by humans and are policed by their own by the New Vampire Justice police force. 

 Getting bit HURTS! Unless you’re a pain slut. Biting humans is also illegal outside of supervised, specialized clubs for that purpose only. Doesn’t mean my MCs don’t get some hot biting on. 

 Vampires eat real food, however there is a component in blood they need for their bodies to function properly. Mainly vampires live on synthesized blood. 

 Vampires must buy their synthesized blood from specialized markets called Vampire Blood Markets (VBM). Most vampires have grown up on the “cup.” 

 There are subsets of vampires with qualities that are supernatural. MC Carson is a Tabula Rosa vampire. With one bite, he can wipe clean another vampires mind, creating mindless drones. MC Lincoln is a Sanatore vampire. His blood has the ability to heal other vampires but with the possible side effect of physically and emotionally bonding with the vampire. 

 I am hoping when you read Dare To Love Forever that you find a vampire story that is fresh and a story you can’t put down! 

 Buy Link: Amber Allure 

 Carson Locke is a Tabula Rosa vampire—a dangerous rarity in the world of vampires. With one bite, he can wipe clean a vampire’s mind, creating a mindless drone. Because of this, Carson has spent his entire twenty-three years sheltered at home. That changes when his entire family is murdered. Now on the run and near death, Carson meets Commander Lincoln Samuels, a beautiful vampire who tries to heal him. In doing so, Carson is bonded to the vampire and turned into something the vampire world has never seen. When Carson is poisoned, he believes that someone wants him dead as well, however there are greater plans for Carson put into motion hundreds of years before his birth. 

 Lincoln is a Sanatore vampire with the ability to heal other vampires. He heads a team in the New Vampire Justice police force in Utica, NY. Late one night, he is called to a local Vampire Blood Market where a starving Tabula Rosa vampire is about to be executed by one of his officers. Feeling a strong connection to Carson, Lincoln wants to heal the broken man despite knowing the risk in doing so. Healing Carson could destroy Lincoln and cost him the chance to love again. What Lincoln finds is that there is a greater evil threatening to take Carson from him. 

 Can two vampires who have loved and painfully lost in the past, learn to trust one another, defeat the evil rising against them, and dare to love forever? 

 “Are you cold?” Lincoln placed a hand on Carson’s leg.

Carson shook his head, staring at the strong hand, the nails trimmed short, the black hairs on the base of the fingers. Without thinking, Carson reached out and laid his hand over Lincoln’s. Carson’s hands were small, the fingers long and thin. His skin was snow white against Lincoln’s darker skin. Carson would guess Lincoln had some Latino ancestors. He’d never met anyone of any origin other than his homogenous family.

The muscles in Lincoln’s hand twitched, but he didn’t move away. Carson continued to stare down, refusing to look into those blue eyes. His attraction to the man was growing, expanding under his skin, as he touched Lincoln. Carson had been kissed and groped and sucked by Justin, but he’d never been penetrated with more than his own finger, and he’d never fucked anyone else. Twenty-three and a virgin. If the incident with Justin hadn’t happened, Carson was sure they would have gone all the way. They’d been in love. Then Carson had destroyed everything.

Carson sucked in a deep breath and looked right into those pools of blue. Once he told Lincoln the horrible things he’d done, he’d never get to touch the man again. Lincoln would never look at him again with that rare softness and—was that need or desire—again.

Carson pulled himself up onto his knees, moving closer to Lincoln. The man squinted at him but said nothing. Carson’s breaths were shallow and his nervousness squeezed tight around his chest. He had to do this one last good thing, because after he spilled his secret, he was going to die one way or another.

Carson leaned closer to Lincoln. The man was still, his eyes searching Carson’s, questioning. Carson licked at his lips, drew in and released a deep breath. He hadn’t been this close to a man—ever. He’d been close to Justin, but they’d only been sixteen, just boys. The closeness was intoxicating, the smell of the man thrilling. Carson slowly lifted his hand to Lincoln’s chest, giving the man time to dodge his touch, but Lincoln remained still. Carson’s fingertips brushed the black T-shirt stretched tight over his chest. Gaining confidence, Carson rested his palm over Lincoln’s left pec. The muscle twitched. Carson held his breath as he ran his hand over the muscled chest, tingles filling his palm. He groin ached and his dick filled. The combination of the touch, the heat, the manly smell, pushed Carson forward.

He caught the hitch in Lincoln’s breathing, but Carson kept his eyes down. If he looked into that face, he’d lose his nerve. He would go as far as Lincoln would allow. Visions of making love to Lincoln bombarded Carson. Lincoln behind him, beneath him, over him… Carson’s breathing increased as he ran his hand over Lincoln’s hard stomach. The man must do hundreds of crunches a day to get that hard.

Speaking of hard—the sight of the bulge in Lincoln’s jeans thrilled Carson. Shit, Lincoln was turned on, hard from Carson’s touch. That reaction spurred Carson to move lower. A hand grabbed his wrist and he gulped, fearing he’d gone too far.

The grip on his wrist wasn’t tight but firm. Lincoln raised Carson’s hand and rested it against his cheek. His dark beard scratched at Carson’s palm. Carson raised his chin, met hooded, lust-filled eyes. Butterflies the size of crows beat against Carson’s stomach. Lincoln’s tongue came out and licked at his own lips. Carson’s eyes flicked down to watch the erotic motion. Gods, he wanted to taste those wine-colored lips.

Maybe Lincoln was reading Carson’s mind because Lincoln lifted his other hand and laid it on the back of Carson’s neck. The skin-to-skin contact raced a shiver through Carson’s body all the way to his toes. His cock was so hard and aching, and he wanted to touch it but he refrained, waiting…breathing…yearning, as Lincoln continued to stare right into him.

The hand on his neck tightened and pulled Carson closer, leading him to Lincoln’s lips. Time stopped as he traveled the short distance to those moist lips. Just before they touched, Carson closed his eyes. Lincoln’s hot breaths hit Carson’s face and then their lips came together tentatively, as if they were both waiting for the other to make the move. The electricity sparking from just that touch zipped straight to Carson’s groin and he surged forward, turning his head and opening his mouth while wrapping his arms around Lincoln’s neck. Lincoln’s hand tightened on Carson’s neck and the other wrapped around Carson’s waist and pulled him hard against Lincoln’s chest.

Oh gods, the taste of the man was heavenly, and Carson attacked his lips, teeth clacking, and a moan rising from one of them. Lincoln turned his body and pulled Carson onto his lap. Instantly, Carson humped against Lincoln’s stomach. A scorching heat rose from within and Carson’s control held by only a fragile thread. Lincoln grabbed one of Carson’s hands and placed the palm against his erection. Carson gasped, squeezing Lincoln’s hard shaft, eliciting a rumbling groan from deep within the man’s chest.

Lincoln pushed his groin against Carson’s hand and Carson wanted so much more, wanted to touch every part of Lincoln’s body, wanted Lincoln’s hands to touch him. Carson pulled away from the kiss and reached for the button of Lincoln’s jeans. Their frenzied pants filled the space between them. Lincoln reached under the hospital gown Carson wore, access easy given that Carson wasn’t wearing underwear. When the rough hand closed over Carson’s shaft, he cried out from the pleasure of a hand other than his own touching him. He was going to come too soon.

“S-stop, please…I’m gonna…” Carson couldn’t catch hold of a single racing thought, couldn’t concentrate with the gorgeous man’s hand stroking the head of his dick.

“Yeah, you are,” Lincoln growled and pushed Carson back onto the bed. Throwing the gown up, Lincoln bent over and swallowed Carson’s cock deep into his mouth.


About JC Wallace

JC Wallace started writing from a young age, but took a break for marriage, kids, and college (in that order). He recently rediscovered his passion and ventured out into the brave new world of publishing with his short, Waiting for Snow, and his first novel, Curiosity Killed Shaney. At night and on the weekends, JC writes about all things men, believing there is nothing hotter than two men finding and loving one another, whether for a night or forever. An avid reader of M/M romance, JC loves a good twist of a plot, HEA, HFN, or tragic ending. He also writes what his bestie calls HUNK (Happy Until the Next Kidnapping).

In his daytime hours, JC works with individuals with autism and behavior problems. He is owned by three kids, one grandchild and one on the way, two dogs and one cat. He lives in the beautiful Adirondack Mountains in Northern NY.